Tour of Tasmania


The Tour of Tasmania is a historical stage cycling event that first commenced in 1930 and will be held across five days in 2016. Over many years, the Tour of Tasmania has played a key role in identifying and showcasing the future talent of Australian cycling.

The Tour travels through picturesque Tasmanian terrain that is renowned for delivering high excitement and intense competition. Past winners of the Tour of Tasmania include the legendary Cadel Evans, Richie Porte, Nathan Haas, Bernard Sulzberger, Lachlan Norris, Cameron Meyer, Jack Haig and Patrick Bevin.


In 2016 the Tour will be based in Northern Tasmania to showcase the variety of cycling courses that the North has to offer; from stages which rise to the peaks of the highest mountains, through to the undulating hills of the open plains.

LAFM will also be hosting free rides that will be available at Stage One around a 3km course situated around the finish area at Grindelwald and at Stage Four around the 1.7km official Criterium course.

Stage One George Town to Grindelwald
When: Thursday 6 October
Where: Commencing at Aspect Valley Tamar Resort, Grindelwald and finishing in Alpine Crescent, Grindelwald
Distance: 3km
Time: 11:45am – 12:45pm
Cost: Free

Stage Four Devonport Criterium
When: Sunday 9 October
Where: Bluff Road, Devonport (Criterium course)
Distance: 1.7km
Time: 9am – 10am
Cost: Free

For more information and to enter visit the website